New service developments - Pan Mersey APC Skip to main content Help with accessibility Skip to main navigation

New service developments

Application and Case for Introduction of New Medicine Service Developments

For applications for minor formulary changes, please use the ‘Request for Amendments to Existing Formulary Choice or a Medicine Switch’ form.

Request for Amendments to Existing Formulary Choice or a Medicine Switch

The aim of Pan Mersey Area Prescribing Committee is to make recommendations on the use of medicines across Merseyside. In order to meet this responsibility the Board has incorporated four subgroups, one of which is the new medicines subgroup. The purpose of this subgroup is to undertake horizon scanning in order to prioritise and plan for the introduction of new medicines, changes in patent and licence of existing medicines, and implementation of national guidance which has the potential for significant clinical or financial impact on health economy.

The new medicines subgroup considers all applications for the introduction of new medicines and by using systematic processes, will review all drugs fully before deciding whether the drug should be introduced onto our formulary. The application for a new medicine involves an approved request being received from a clinician, going through the hospitals Drug and Therapeutic Committees and if applicable, a full review being conducted by our Pharmacists to ascertain whether the requested the medicine is viable in terms of cost, effectiveness and most of all, patient safety, using evidence from NICE, EMEA and other reliable medical sources.

Form submission

Clinical Commissioning Group

Halton CCG Becky Birchall becky.birchall@nhs.net

Knowsley CCG Carrie Barton carolyn.barton3@knowsleyccg.nhs.uk

Liverpool CCG David Ainscough david.ainscough@liverpoolch.nhs.uk

Southport and Formby CCG Kay Walsh kay.walsh@nhs.net

South Sefton CCG Kay Walsh kay.walsh@nhs.net

St Helens CCG Laura Dewsbury laura.dewsbury@sthelensccg.nhs.uk

Warrington CCG Jenny Lunn jennylunn@nhs.net

West Lancashire CCG Nicola Baxter nicola.baxter@lancashirecsu.nhs.uk

Wirral CCG Rachael Pugh rachael.pugh@nhs.net

Secondary/specialist Trust

Aintree University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust Dave Thornton dave.thornton@aintree.nhs.uk

Alder Hey Hospital Children's NHS Trust Anita Aindow anita.aindow@alderhey.nhs.uk

Liverpool Heart and Chest Hospital NHS Foundation Trust Danny Forrest danny.forrest@lhch.nhs.uk

Liverpool Women's NHS Foundation Trust Paul Mooney paul.mooney@lwh.nhs.uk

Mersey Care NHS Trust David Ainscough david.ainscough@nhs.net

North West Boroughs Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust Kerry Lawton kerry.lawton@nwbh.nhs.uk

Royal Liverpool and Broadgreen University Hospitals NHS Trust Paul Skipper paul.skipper@rlbuht.nhs.uk

Southport and Ormskirk Hospital NHS Trust Kay Walsh kay.walsh@nhs.net

St Helens and Knowsley Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust Mike Welsby mike.welsby@stkh.nhs.uk

The Walton Centre Eleri Phillips eleri.phillips@thewaltoncentre.nhs.uk

Warrington and Halton Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust Jenny Jones j.jones30@.nhs.net

Wirral University Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust Rebecca Winstanley-Jones rebecca.winstanley-jones@nhs.net